當您準備購買第一張空白DVD或DVD刻錄機時,您可以在Google上進行搜索,您會驚奇地發現有多種DVD格式。 您可以區分DVD和藍光光盤,但DVD-R,DVD + R,DVD-RW和DVD + RW會讓您感到非常困惑。 你可能想知道:他們究竟是什麼意思? DVD-R和DVD + R,DVD-RW和DVD + RW有什麼區別? 哪種格式適合我? 哪一個與我的DVD播放器兼容? 請繼續閱讀,您將獲得有關這些問題的所有答案。

R和RW格式之間的差異

首先,我們應該知道連字符後面的首字母縮寫“R”和“RW”。 它可以告訴我們我們可以用這種類型的光盤做什麼。


R: 錄。 您可以編寫一次並任意讀取多次。 因此,“R”格式盤適用於諸如非易失性數據存儲,音頻或視頻的應用。

RW: 可擦寫。 您可以寫入這些光盤,擦除它們,然後再次寫入它們。 根據Pioneer的說法,DVD-RW光盤在需要更換之前可能會寫入大約1,000次。 RW光盤通常用於以易失性格式存儲數據,例如在創建備份或文件集合時。 它們還用於家用DVD錄像機。


DVD-R和DVD + R的區別和比較

表面上看,DVD + R光盤與DVD-R光盤沒什麼區別。 它們的直徑均為120mm,厚度為1.2mm,包括兩個0.6mm聚碳酸酯基板。 然而,DVD + R具有寫在盤上的“DVD + R”,而DVD-R盤具有其各自的措辭。 DVD + R和DVD-R的主要區別和比較主要集中在標準,兼容性,質量,速度和價格上。


1。 DVD + R VS DVD-R - 標準差異

DVD-R格式由Pioneer在1997中開發。 它受到大多數普通DVD播放器的支持,並經DVD論壇批准。

DVD + R格式由飛利浦和索尼公司及其DVD + RW聯盟開發,並在2002中推出。

支持DVD-R的公司包括Pioneer,Toshiba,Hitachi和Panasonic,而支持DVD + R的公司包括Sony,Philips,Hewlett-Packard,Ricoh和Yamaha。


2。 DVD-R VS DVD + R - 功能差異

DVD-R和DVD + R之間的主要功能區別在於它們確定激光束在光盤上的位置的方式。

DVD-R沿著光盤中的凹槽使用微小的標記,稱為“平台預製”,以確定激光位置。 DVD + R沒有地面預製,而是在激光向光盤外部移動時測量“擺動頻率”。


3。 DVD-R VS DVD + R - 質量/速度/價格比較

隨著應用的技術不同,DVD + R在很多方面都比DVD-R具有更好的性能。 例如,DVD + R在DVD-R方面領先於錄製質量和速度。 因此,DVD-R光盤通常比DVD + R格式便宜。


DVD-RW和DVD + RW的區別和比較

像DVD±R一樣的DVD±RW,但可以擦除和重寫。 DVD論壇支持DVD-RW,但DVD + RW聯盟支持DVD + R. 它們兼容大多數DVD-ROM驅動器和DVD視頻播放器。 DVD-RW格式需要更短的時間來燒錄導入/導出,因此與DVD播放器的兼容性稍高。 另一方面,DVD + RW格式具有一些特殊功能,例如無損鏈接,以及CAV和CLV寫入。


請注意: 除了這些主要的DVD格式,您可能會看到DVD 5和DVD 9。 它們是媒體存儲,不會混淆它們。 DVD-5是DVD-9的早期版本,單層,容量為4.37 GB,可存儲高達120分鐘的標準視頻,可重寫,價格低廉且在DVD列表中最受歡迎。 而DVD-9是高級版,雙層,具有7.95 GB的容量,可存儲高達120分鐘的高清電影,無法重寫且價格昂貴。 你可以收縮 DVD9到DVD5 獲得更多優勢。


最受歡迎的DVD Creater,支持DVD + R,DVD-R,DVD-RW和DVD + RW

在了解了差異和比較之後,在這裡我們建議您購買最好的DVD製作軟件,以備您需要製作DVD光盤時使用。 同 VideoSolo DVD Creator,您可以從計算機或下載創建本地視頻,並製作各種DVD類型的在線電影,如DVD-R,DVD + R,DVD-RW,DVD + RW,DVD-5,DVD-9等,並播放它們任何DVD播放器。 此外,它還可以創建帶有各種菜單模板的個性化DVD菜單。


更重要的是,您可以在DVD中添加音軌,字幕和章節。 請注意,DVD - / + R是一次寫入格式,DVD - / + RW是可重寫的。 但VideoSolo DVD Creator無法擦除DVD - / + RW光盤,僅支持替換寫入新內容。

如何使用VideoSolo DVD Creator創建可播放的DVD

步驟1。 將空白DVD-R,DVD + R,DVD-RW,DVD + RW,DVD-5或DVD-9光盤插入DVD驅動器,然後在計算機上打開VideoSolo DVD Creator。

主要

步驟2。 單擊“添加文件”按鈕,然後選擇要在DVD上寫入的視頻文件。

添加文件

步驟3。 加載媒體文件後,單擊“編輯”按鈕,通過增加或減少亮度,飽和度,對比度或色調設置來調整視頻效果。 您還可以在視頻中修剪,裁剪或添加水印。 然後單擊“確定”按鈕以保存更改。

作物

步驟4。 單擊“音頻軌道”或“ABC字幕”按鈕為視頻選擇或添加音軌。 您可以修改音量,延遲,編碼器,比特率,頻道等參數。之後,您可以單擊“字幕”選項卡為DVD添加字幕。

字幕

步驟5。 轉到“菜單”部分,然後單擊“編輯菜單”按鈕打開菜單模板窗口。 然後,您可以選擇自己喜歡的模板並根據需要進行自定義。

菜單模板

步驟6。 現在,您可以轉到“首選項”選項卡以選擇輸出格式並更改分辨率,寬高比,視頻比特率等輸出參數。然後返回主界面並選擇輸出文件夾和DVD類型。

偏愛

步驟7。 最後,如果您準備好了,請單擊“刻錄”按鈕開始將文件寫入光盤。

刻錄DVD

等一會兒,你可以享受高品質的DVD。


結論

在這篇文章中,我們介紹了容易混淆的主要DVD類型:DVD + R和DVD-R,DVD-RW和DVD + RW,DVD9和DVD5。 在升級DVD機器或光盤之前,您最好先了解它們之間的區別和比較。 無論您想要創建DVD-R,DVD + R,DVD-RW還是DVD + RW,您都需要一個合適的程序,例如 VideoSolo DVD Creator。 我們分享了有關使用此DVD Creator創建可播放DVD的教程。 您可以了解您的需求並立即嘗試。

When you prepare to buy your first blank DVD or a DVD recorder, you may search it on Google and you'll be surprised to find that there are diversity DVD formats. You may distinguish DVD and Blu-ray disc, but DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RW and DVD+RW will make you very confused. You may wonder: what exactly do they mean? What are the differences between DVD-R and DVD+R, DVD-RW and DVD+RW? Which format is right for me? And which one is compatible with my DVD player? Read on and you will get all the answers about these questions.

Difference between R and RW Formats

First up, we should know the acronym "R" and "RW" after the hyphen. It can tell us what we can do with that type of disc.


R: Recordable. You can write once and read arbitrarily many times. Thus, "R" format discs are suited to applications such as non-volatile data storage, audio, or video.

RW: Rewritable. You can write to these discs, erase them, and write to them again. According to Pioneer, DVD-RW discs may be written to about 1,000 times before needing replacement. RW discs are commonly used to store data in a volatile format, such as when creating backups or collections of files. They are also used for home DVD video recorders.  


Difference and Comparison between DVD-R and DVD+R

Ostensibly, DVD+R disc looks no difference with the DVD-R disc. They're all 120mm in diameter and 1.2mm in thickness, comprising two 0.6mm polycarbonate substrates. However, a DVD+R has "DVD+R" written on the disc, while a DVD-R disc has its respective wording. The main difference and comparison between DVD+R and DVD-R mainly focus on the standard, compatibility, quality, speed and price.


1. DVD+R VS DVD-R - Standard Differences

The DVD-R format was developed by Pioneer in 1997. It is supported by most normal DVD players and is approved by the DVD Forum.

The DVD+R format was developed by Philips and Sony with their DVD+RW Alliance and was introduced in 2002.

Companies that support DVD-R include Pioneer, Toshiba, Hitachi, and Panasonic, while companies that support DVD+R include Sony, Philips, Hewlett-Packard, Ricoh, and Yamaha.


2. DVD-R VS DVD+R – Functional Differences

The main functional difference between DVD-R and DVD+R is the way they determine the location of the laser beam on the disc.

DVD-R use tiny marks along the grooves in the discs, called "land prepits", to determine the laser position. DVD+R do not have land prepits, but instead measure the "wobble frequency" as the laser moves toward the outside of the disc.


3. DVD-R VS DVD+R – Quality/Speed/Price Comparison

With the different technology applied, DVD+R has better performance than DVD-R in many ways. For example, DVD+R is ahead of DVD-R for both the recording quality and the speed. Therefore, DVD-R discs are usually cheaper than the DVD+R format.


Difference and Comparison between DVD-RW and DVD+RW

A DVD±RW like a DVD±R, but can be erased and rewritten. DVD-RW is supported by the DVD Forum but DVD+R is supported by the DVD+RW Alliance. They are both compatible with most DVD-ROM drives and DVD-Video players. DVD-RW format requires shorter time to burn the lead in/out, and therefore has slightly more compatibility with DVD players. On the other hand, the DVD+RW format has some special features, such as lossless linking, and both CAV and CLV writing.


Note: Apart from these main DVD formats, you probably see DVD 5 and DVD 9. They are media storages and don't confuse them. DVD-5 is earlier version of DVD-9, single layered, has a capacity of 4.37 GB, can stores up to 120 minutes of standard video, can be rewritten, low priced and is most popular in the list of DVD's. Whereas, DVD-9 is advanced version, double layered, has a capacity of 7.95 GB, can store up to 120 minutes of HD movie, cannot be re-written and is expensive. You can shrink DVD9 to DVD5 to get more advantages.


Top-rated DVD Creater that Supports DVD+R, DVD-R, DVD-RW and DVD+RW

After learning about the difference and comparison, here we would like to recommend you the best DVD creator software in case you need to create DVD disc. With VideoSolo DVD Creator, you can create local videos from computer or download and makes online movies to various DVD types, like DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, DVD-5, DVD-9, etc. and play them on any DVD player. Besides, it can create personalized DVD menu with various menu templates.


What's more, you are allowed to add audio tracks, subtitles and chapters to DVDs. Please note that DVD-/+R are write-once formats and DVD-/+RW are rewritable. But VideoSolo DVD Creator cannot erase DVD-/+RW discs, only support to replace with writing new contents.

How to create playable DVD with VideoSolo DVD Creator

Step 1. Insert a blank DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, DVD-5 or DVD-9 disc into your DVD drive and open VideoSolo DVD Creator on your computer.

Main

Step 2. Click on the "Add Files" button and select video file you want to write on the DVD.

Add Files

Step 3. After the media file loaded, click on the "Edit" button to adjust the video effect by increasing or decreasing the brightness, saturation, contrast or hue settings. You can also trim, crop or add watermark into the video. Then click "OK" button to save the changes.

Crop

Step 4. Click "Audio Track" or "ABC Subtitle" button to choose or add audio track for your video. You are able to modify parameters like volume, latency, encoder, bitrate, channels, etc. After that, you can click on "Subtitle" tab to add subtitles to your DVD.

Subtitle

Step 5. Go to "Menu" section and click on the "Edit Menu" button to open menu template window. Then you can choose your favorite template and customized it as you wish.

Menu Templates

Step 6. Now you can go to "Preferences" tab to select output format and change output parameters like resolution, aspect ratio, video bitrate, etc. Then go back to the main interface and select the output folder and DVD type.

Preference

Step 7. Finally, if you are ready, click on the "Burn" button to start writing the files to disc.

Burning DVD

Wait for a while and you can enjoy the high quality DVDs.


Conclusion

In this post, we introduced the main DVD types easy to confuse: DVD+R and DVD-R, DVD-RW and DVD+RW, DVD9 and DVD5. Before you upgrade DVD machine or discs, you'd better learn the difference and comparison between them. No matter you want to create a DVD-R, a DVD+R, a DVD-RW or a DVD+RW, you will need an appropriate program, such as VideoSolo DVD Creator. We have shared the tutorial about creating playable DVD with this DVD Creator. You can learn what you need and give a try now.